Krk Diocese

Style period: romanesque

Century: 12 A.D.

Immediately opposite of the cathedral complex, on the sea cliffs along the quay, there is the centre of the Krk Diocese, the chancery. The chancery was built through several stages, the earliest one being next to the Castle (Romanesque stage). The diocese is supposed to have been founded somewhere in the 5th century, however, it was first mentioned in the documents in 1133 as the place where the prince, the bishop and the representatives of the city authorities met to arrange for the repair of the city wall. At the time, the jurisdiction of the Krk Diocese reached all to Vinodol and Senj on land to the north. The Krk Diocese was a part of the Split Archdiocese until the middle of the 12th century, when it became a part of the Zadar Archdiocese, afterwards it fell under the jurisdiction of the City, and since the 15th century it belonged to Venice.
    All until 1828, there were three dioceses in the area of north Adriatic: Krk, Rab and Osor diocese, after which the last two were discontinued and they became a part of the Krk Diocese.
Today, the Krk Diocese encompasses the islands Krk, Cres, Lošinj, Rab and the northern part of Pag with smaller neighbouring islands.
The Krk Diocese belongs to the Rijeka metropolitanate, founded in 1969


  • Franjo Velčić, Povijesno-zemljopisni pregled Krčke biskupije, u: Krčka biskupija, Biskupski ordinarijat, Krk, 2009.
  • Bolonić, Mihovil, Ivan Žic-Rokov, Otok Krk kroz vjekove, Kršćanska sadašnjost, Zagreb, 2002.